The laboratory of Biological Processes, Enzymatic and Microbial Engineering    Français English

History

The Laboratory ProBioGEM was born in January 2004 from a structured search of the University Lille 1, it was recognized in January 2006 as the team EA 1026 for the 2006-2009 four-year contract.

Initially distributed over several sites of the University Lille1, its implementation and the final deployment of its premises on two sites continued until the beginning of the contract 2009-2013 for which the EA 1026 was renewed. ProBioGEM is located in the Polytech'Lille engineer school for all research laboratories and the IUT "A" for the pilot plan of biotechnology, the cell culture and the pet room. The final installation of a microbiology laboratory L2 is still in progress at the premises of Polytech'Lille.

The lab brings together lecturers and researchers from different disciplines: genetic engineering, microbial engineering, enzyme engineering and process engineering. These lecturers are attached to their personal learning at the IUT A, at Polytech'Lille, or at the Faculty of Biology and Chemistry. This multidisciplinary approach is one of the major resources of the laboratory; it can now develop biotechnological research on systemic bioprocess applied to the selective production of bioactive peptides. This multidisciplinary structure, which is not common at a laboratory scale in the national and international scientific landscape, has been a major challenge for the actors, on the one hand, to find a federative topics involving individual skills and on the other hand to create a true synergy between the different approaches of the bioprocess. Various indicators are used to affirm today that the bet is a winner : our recognition within the University of Lille as a major player in white biotechnology in the IFR 147 led by Dominique Legrand and at a national level by integrating the GDR CNRS Engineering biosystems : the cell process led by the Professor Claude- Gilles Dussap.

The ProBioGEM laboratory consists of a single team centered around a major topic: the understanding of the mechanisms involved at the molecular level, cellular and macroscopic for the selective production of functional peptides displaying biological activities for potential applications in food.

Laboratoire des Procédés Biologiques, Génie Enzymatique et Microbien    Français English

Présentation / Historique

Le Laboratoire de Procédés Biologiques, Génie Enzymatique et Microbien : ProBioGEM, constitué à partir d'une structuration de recherche de l'Université de Lille 1 en janvier 2004, a été reconnu en janvier 2006 comme équipe d'accueil EA 1026, dans le cadre du contrat quadriennal 2006-2009.

Réparti initialement sur plusieurs sites de l'Université, son implantation et l'aménagement définitif de ses locaux sur deux sites : l'EPU Polytech'Lille pour l'ensemble des laboratoires de recherche et l'IUT « A » pour la halle pilote de biotechnologie, la salle de culture cellulaire et l'animalerie, s'est poursuivi jusqu'au début du contrat 2009-2013 pour lequel l'EA 1026 a été reconduite. L'installation définitive d'un laboratoire de microbiologie L2 est encore en cours de réalisation dans les locaux de Polytech'Lille.

Le laboratoire rassemble des enseignants-chercheurs appartenant à des disciplines différentes : génie génétique, génie microbien, génie enzymatique et génie des procédés et rattachés pour leur enseignement à l'IUT A, Polytech'Lille, l'UFR de Biologie et de Chimie. Cette pluridisciplinarité est l'une des richesses majeures du laboratoire, elle permet de développer aujourd'hui une recherche en biotechnologie sur la systémique de bioprocédés appliqués à l'obtention sélective de peptides bioactifs. Cette structure pluridisciplinaire peu fréquente dans le paysage scientifique national et international à l'échelle d'un laboratoire, a constitué un défi important pour ses acteurs, d'une part, pour trouver une thématique fédérative impliquant les compétences de chacun et d'autre part pour créer une véritable synergie entre les différentes approches du bioprocédé. Différents indicateurs permettent d'affirmer aujourd'hui que le pari est gagnant : notre reconnaissance au sein de l'Université de Lille comme un acteur important en biotechnologie blanche au sein de l'IFR 147 dirigée par Dominique Legrand et au niveau national en intégrant le GDR CNRS « Ingénierie des biosystèmes : de la cellule au procédé » dirigé par le professeur Claude-Gilles Dussap.

Le laboratoire ProBioGEM est constitué en une seule équipe centrée autour d'un thème majeur : la compréhension des mécanismes impliqués à l'échelle moléculaire, cellulaire et macroscopique pour l'obtention sélective de peptides fonctionnels et à activités biologiques pour des applications potentielles en agroalimentaire.